Stewart

 

 

As I worked my regular nine to five in my job in a bank I met an interesting man by the name of Stewart, who had quite the interesting story to tell me of his past. Now before I came to work in a bank my appreciation for such historical war stories were little to none until I met Stewart on this fateful day at work.

THE STORY

Whilst Stewart was a young man during the Second World War he witnessed the truth about the American army as they helped the British Army fight the Germans. In the east midlands town of Kettering the Americans had set up camp in what then used to be pubs, bars and  various other market type shops in the towns centre. It would seem that even though men were fighting for the same cause in the war the Americans in their arrogance still couldn’t put aside their racism and discrimination against the black men serving alongside them. The Americans had actually brought their segregation policy to the small town of Kettering and designated certain bars for all white American soldiers. Stewart my friend a lover of all races tried his best to tiptoe around the issue and not slaughter the Americans too much; probably because like me he understood without the Americans the war wouldn’t have been won. It would seem that even facing death there is segregation when the Americans are concerned.

WHY I WAS ANGRY

As Stewart explained his story he was dubious to my stirring emotional state whizzing in my mind. Do I hate white people was a question that troubled my mind; but the answer was clearly no. I am not just saying that because I live in the “white man’s land” but rather I very much have a strong dislike for the men in the past who subjected these innocent black men to racism even in a time as perilous as war. We are always made aware of the Germans horrific leader Hitler who killed so many people because of the discriminatory views he held but we are TOLD unconsciously and sometimes consciously to forget the slavery trade of not just America; but UK, Dutch, Portuguese, French and some Spanish. The black man has been placed at the bottom of the human order and yet those who had enslaved us, needed us for their society and their economy to keep a balance. So yes when Stewart divulged this knowledge about what the Americans in Kettering had truly behaved like with those black men serving alongside them, tears did formulate in the eye. Every time I watch a film about our horrific history which still doesn’t even gratify the true obscenity and sinful behaviour of racists, I get angry and teary. The racism has evaporated from the class of working man; but the racism a has never really dissipated from those in power and those with the power to bring change to nations and people. Obama doesn’t quantify change to; are we not seeing even more deaths of innocent black males happening in his reign.

WHY WAS I HURT

How much is the life of a black man? How much is the life of me as an individual worth? The most painful thing is that the racism of the American white man has continued until today. The recent cases of Eric Garner, John Crawford, Ezell Ford, Michael Brown and Dante Parker have hit our UK shores because the media has allowed it. Yet just like the Mark Duggan case in UK the anger is stirring in black people because we feel like the powers that be are not protecting the minority. This is 2014 and yet nothing has changed; please be under no illusion by the extended freedom you have been given. In a country like America the cases of black men being unlawfully killed by the Caucasian individual has reinforced the idea that black men are of lesser value. Northing has truly changed because justice is still unable to reach these victims’ families of race related crimes.

To be honest I was more hurt about not being able to do something about the past; it has happened and there is literally nothing I can do about it for I am powerless. Furthermore it made no sense how black men were good enough to die alongside these white Americans at the time but were not good enough to dance, eat and have a good enough time with. Does that really make sense? And the thought of putting myself in these men’s shoes really tore me up inside; they are facing death just like everybody else and still they cannot be honoured.

CONCLUSION

There is nothing I can do about the past but there is something I can do about the future. I am not the walk in the street and protest kind of guy because I believe that can only solve so much; there needs to be a complete radical power that will bring justice and fairness to those victims that have been killed unlawfully. The truth is that equality is something very far away that we as people and society must continue to work on, to strive for, and to achieve. No man’s life is more important than the other and how can race; if ever we were to quantify importance, be a factor? So let me conclude my thoughts; I am not an angry black male looking for revenge but I am very much aware that the injustice is too much to bare. Therefore there must be a cause of action from my side. Looting? Never. Take another’s life? Never. Encourage black males to retaliate? Never. If we want to really see a shift in the pan diagram then we NEED TO PRAY. And my justice I wish for will come if not in this life then Heaven awaits those who were swift to shed blood. Let me leave you with these verse.

Genesis4:11 Now you are under a curse and driven from the ground, which opened its mouth to receive your brother’s blood from your hand.

I will punish the world for its evil, the wicked for their sins. I will put an end to the arrogance of the haughty and will humble the pride of the ruthless. Isiah13:11

Romans12:19 Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,”[d] says the Lord.20 On the contrary:

“If your enemy is hungry, feed him;
    if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.
In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”[e]

21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

 

 

Have your say

